Writing

Writing is HARD.

I love writing, but my goodness it is difficult.

From the time I was in second grade I decided that I wanted to be an author. I didn’t know how or what kind, just that I wanted to write a book. And now that I’m older, I know that I want to write a book but have yet to figure out how or about what. See? This is what I’m talking about. Years have gone by and I’m still stuck.

Creative Writing 1, Poetry 1, Fiction 1, Creative Non Fiction, Research to Performance Method (Playwriting), Novel 2*… I have taken so many writing classes and still feel like I can’t find my niche.  Every class has been enjoyable and I have learned so much about my style, but I am no closer to my end goal. So what do I do next?

The problem is that I don’t write consistently. If I don’t have a prompt or a deadline I don’t write. Two years in a  row I have tried Nanowrimo ** and failed (like a few days in). Novel idea after novel idea, so many started projects and still nothing.

If I want to write, then I need to write.

I need to try writing more consistently. For practice, for pleasure, but not for perfection.

That is part of the reason I’ve started this blog. This is a safe space for me to write. Albeit different from novel writing, it’s practice that will hopefully motivate me to do more – maybe I’ll even post some of my fiction.

At the very least it’s writing.

*I have taken one Gotham class and it was a great post University experience.

**I have tried to do Nanowrimo two times and haven’t had much luck going through with it. This was probably due to bad timing and planning, but nevertheless it’s been discouraging.

3 thoughts on “Writing

  1. I write for myself, and more specifically, what I want to write and when I want to write. I can never write a novel or anything like that because I can never do it long enough to write a full book. Call me lazy, but I just don’t think that is for me. I’m more of a blogger because you’re not writing novel like posts, you’re just writing posts regularly. Writing is fun for me, and it’s even more fun to write in journals. Journals are so fun to write in, haha.

    This comment might have been a bit rambly, although I was really inspired by your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

