I Made It All About Me

In response to “But, What About Me?”

I’m a little late in writing this post –  I meant to do it the first week of May.

 I’ve been busy, but I’ve also been putting it off. My excuse would be that I was trying to process the last month so that I could write a coherent and complete follow-up post. But, in all honesty I am still processing and this is just my attempt to finally materialize it.

The month of April. 30 days. 4 goals.

1) Publish a blog post at least once a week.

2) Knit everyday.

3) Take myself on a date for some “me time.”

4) Follow up on the last post.

And *drum roll* please. I did it!

The biggest part of the challenge for me was the knitting part. It was something new that I wanted to implement, and I felt it would take the most commitment. It felt like finally fulfilling a promise I had made to myself a long time ago. I wanted to learn a new skill (& in doing so prove to myself my capability), and I wanted to devote some extra time and effort to myself. So, I committed to knitting. The other goals were added on as things I have started this year, and am trying to continue. 

So, here’s what happened.

  1. Publishing once a week was a challenge, because I wasn’t always inspired to write and I didn’t want to force it. However, I realized that setting a deadline for myself helped me be more intentional about finding inspiration. Perhaps, I can take this approach with my writing….Either way, I would like to continue posting at least once a week. 
  2. I actually managed to knit everyday for 30 days, and although I no longer knit every single day, it is a habit I have kept. I just ordered more yarn for more projects 😉 I would say that this was huge for me. It really showed a daily commitment, and I now know I’m capable of doing something like this again. Whether it be sticking to a diet or a new exercise regimen (should probably do that) {More details of my day to day progress were posted here}.
  3. One Sunday afternoon, I took myself out. I really didn’t know what to do, so I ended up in a cafe whee I ordered some bubble tea. There was the good and the bad. I’ll start with the good –  I found a lovely little cafe, I had an interesting flavor of bubble tea(cookies and cream), I got some work done, I read a little. The bad –  The cafe was empty ( so I felt a little isolated), I wrote a blog post (so it felt like I was doing work instead of fully enjoying myself), as I was out I realized that I wasn’t having much fun. Overall, it was good to get out by myself, but I think I need to work on doing something more enjoyable next time. Like going to a craft shop, reading, or taking along some knitting.
  4. And the response. Well, I did it, but I’m still navigating this space. I’m trying to figure out how to be self-interested without being selfish. How to assert myself without being rude or pushy. How to be confident without being domineering or arrogant. How to have alone time without neglecting others. I think I’ve learned that there’s still a lot to learn. This is not something that can happen in one month. I’ve learned that committing to myself is more than possible, but it takes intention and effort.  As the year continues and my life continues to change (in pretty drastic ways) I know that I need to continue this challenge. Even if it means I sit down and knit for a few minutes, I need to continue having time to focus on myself and my needs, interests, wants, and desires.

 

I’m still figuring it out, but that’s what I’ve got so far…

Are there any challenges you’ve tried and grown from?

 

 

Leave a Reply

